Keynote Speakers

Professor Philippe Lutz

Philippe Lutz joined the University of Franche-Comté in Besançon as Professor in 2002. He is currently the head of the research group “Automated Systems for Micromanipulation and Micro-assembly” of the AS2M department of FEMTO-ST. He teaches at the master level the design of Mechatronic Systems and Production System.

Engineer of the ENSMM in 1990 and Doctor of the University of Franche Comté in Automation and Computer Science in 1994, he was Associate Professor in the INSA of Strasbourg since 1994 until 2002. During this period, he has led the Mechatronics activities and developed research on inventive theory for solving problems, particularly TRIZ.


Professor Metin Sitti

Metin Sitti received the BSc and MSc degrees in electrical and electronics engineering from Bogazici University, Istanbul, Turkey, in 1992 and 1994, respectively, and the PhD degree in electrical engineering from the University of Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan, in 1999. He was a research scientist at University of California at Berkeley during 1999-2002. He is currently a professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering and Robotics Institute at Carnegie Mellon. His research interests include micro/nano-robotics, bio-inspired miniature robots and materials, and micro/nano-manipulation. He received the SPIE Nanoengineering Pioneer Award in 2011. He was nominated for the World Technology Award related to health care and medicine in 2009. He has been appointed as the Adamson Career Faculty Fellow in 2007. He received the National Science Foundation CAREER award in 2005. He was elected as the Distinguished Lecturer of the IEEE Robotics and Automation Soceity for 2006-2008. He received the Best Paper Award in the IEEE/RSJ International Conference on Intelligent Robots and Systems in 2009 and 1998, the second prize in the World RoboCup Nanogram Demonstration League in 2010 and 2007, the Best Biomimetics Paper Award in the IEEE Robotics and Biomimetics Conference in 2004, and the Best Video Award in the IEEE Robotics and Automation Conference in 2002. He was the Vice President of the Technical Activities in the IEEE Nanotechnology Council for 2008-2010, and he is the co-editor-in-chief of Journal of Micro/Nano-Mechatronics and an associate editor for the IEEE Trans. on Robotics and ACS Applied Materials and Interfaces.

Abstract of Presentation